Movie Review: In Time

If you’re new to the blog, you should know that “Squee” as defined by the Urban Dictionary is: A noise primarily made by an over-excited fangirl. We here at Songs in Squee Minor define “fangirl” as a passionate fan of various elements of geek culture, including but not limited to sci-fi, zombies, fantasy, comics, graphic novels, movies, books…the list goes on. For CDSquee and I, we have dreams of one day attending the California Comic-Con (sans the sexy slave Leia costume, we have to draw a line somewhere) so we can squee to our hearts’ delight. Kimtastic has at least attended several of the ATL area Dragon Cons, which is respectable demonstrations of Squeedom in and of itself. I tell you all this so that you might understand my attraction to In Time. It’s concept is pure squee delight.

If you don’t know much about it, here’s a synopsis from IMDb: In a future where people stop aging at 25, but are engineered to live only one more year, having the means to buy your way out of the situation is a shot at immortal youth. Here, Will Salas finds himself accused of murder and on the run with a hostage – a connection that becomes an important part of the way against the system. I have a major pet peeve for a movie synopsis that starts with “In a future where…”, but that’s another issue. In Time is part high concept sci-fi, part Bonnie and Clyde, part Nick Cage “Blow shi# up and run from the cops!” (I still don’t understand why he wasn’t in this movie) and strangely enough, part British/cockney gangster movie. See how many “parts” I just named? Do you wonder how they all possibly work together. Here’s a hint: They DON’T.

I was excited when the movie began because I got the feeling of a stylish sci-fi, like Gattaca (an all-time favorite) or that it was going to nod at the antiseptic look of TXH 1138 and that boded well. In fact, I have to say that the style treatment was probably the best part of the movie although I have to make an exception for the “time cop” (not the John Claude Van Damme movie) who looked like he fell out of the Matrix and got lost. The time cop, played by Cillian Murphy (28 Days Later and Batman), was about as equally emotive as Keanu Reeves, but without the tongue-in-cheek, and I waited the whole movie for him to say “Whoa!” but he never did.

Here’s are examples of the positive style of the movie, expressed in the cars. The old Lincolns were my favorite. The Dodge Challengers used by the police were also awesome.

So, the style and the basic concept of the movie were winners. Everything else pretty much bombed. I like Justin Timberlake, especially when he’s putting inappropriate things in a box to give to his best friend’s mother for mother’s day. I like Amanday Seyfried, too (even though she looks like a Bratz doll).

It wasn’t their fault that they had to work with terrible dialogue stuffed with cheesy puns; the affluent younger generations “come from time (money)”, people don’t die, they “time out”. “Don’t waste my time”, “We’re running out of time,” The world is divided by class or the amount of currency (time) one has by “time zones”. Okay we get it, quit beating me in the head with it. And the kicker is the theme repeated throughout the film: “For a few to be immortal, many must die,” to which Will Salas responds “No one should be immortal if even one person has to die.” If James Bond had said these things it would have been acceptable. Alas, Daniel Craig was not in this movie.

I imagine the powers that be got together and couldn’t agree on a plan so they decided to make everyone happy. One dude was like, “I love George Lucas!” and then another dude was like, “I love Guy Ritchie”, and another guy was like “I love Gattaca,” and then Andrew Niccol was like “That’s great, because I’m the guy who directed Gattaca, and I’m directing this movie too!” and then another dude was like, “I love Nick Cage!” and everyone else was like, “Shut up, Dude!” but he was the guy with the most money so they had to blow stuff up and have car chases to make him happy, and then another guy was like, “I love gangsters!” and then everyone else was like, “Yeah, we already mentioned Guy Ritchie,” and he was like, “No, not the British kind but the American kind from the depression era,” so everyone else was like, “Okay, we’ll put them in too!”

Redeeming feature: Matt Boner, I mean BOWmer, makes a brief appearance. And the cool cars. Don’t forget the cars.

Summary of Review: In Time is an incohesive, gloopy mess.

Leave a Reply

