Revolution


I finally watched the pilot of this new show this morning. I’ve been awaiting it all summer after seeing months and months of teasers. If there is a target audience, it’s me, so I don’t know how objective my review might be.

Why am I a target audience? I love dystopian novels.  I tend to really like young adult , dystopian novels.  Revolution is the sum of those novels put into live action  for my viewing pleasure. It’s a popular trend right now, though like many fans of this genre, I’ve been reading dystopia years before it became a household word.  If some network producer hadn’t picked up on this obvious opportunity, I would have been shocked.

The show is set 15 years in the future after “the lights went out”.  Something caused all electrical power to cease working, including car batteries and such. Society has become agrarian based, again. We’ll apparently learn more about those 15 years of transition in flash backs, but the first episodes only give a few vague insights. If I have to give a thumbs down to anything, it’s that some of things that happened in this pilot were predictable.

Things about this show to make us go Squee!!!:

 

It’s a JJ Abrams production (remember Lost?) so right away there’s a secret behind the power outage and that secret will be the plot catalyst for the entire season.

The pilot was directed by Jon Favreau, Fan Boy extraordinaire. He directed the Iron Man movies (squee!!) among other squee worthy things.

The bad guy in this series (Monroe) is played by David Lyons, who I liked a lot in the miserable series, “The Cape”. Hated the show, but loved him. Glad to see him get another chance.

This doesn’t necessarily qualify as squee, but it’s notable that Billy Burke has a major role in this series.  He plays Bella’s dad, Charlie, in the Twilight movies. He was also in the YA movie, Red Riding Hood.  So smart of the producers to cast the male lead as someone already familiar to the teen girl fan base this show is hoping to attract.

So, after the first episode, I’m hooked (so is my 10 year old boy. Yay, something we can watch together that isn’t  on Nickelodeon or Disney or Cartoon Network).  Here’s hoping NBC, Abrams, or a million other factors (bad writing, for instance) doesn’t screw it up.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandalovesmovies
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 15:34:56

    This one gave me a strong Heroes vibe (tone & feel), but let’s hope NBC can keep it from falling apart. Check out my recap! http://amandalovesmovies.com/2012/09/18/revolution-pilot/

    Reply

  2. Lucy
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 22:32:48

    I liked the pilot of Revolution too and am looking forward to watching it tonight. You’re right that it seems like the perfect match for YA dystopia readers. It’s too early to tell, but I hope that Revolution is as good (or half as good?) as Lost.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

