Hallo-SQUEEEEN!

Here in Big City, Halloween season has already begun and I can’t be anymore Squee about that. I LOVE Halloween. I love to hate being scared at haunted houses. I love ghost tours. I especially love dressing up in ridiculous costumes and Halloween gives me a chance to do that without judgement.

Here’s some history. I was my high school mascot and wore a full wildcat costume complete with heavy head to Friday night football games. Obviously another reason I was the most popular girl in school. I also played the Easter Bunny at my part time job at a card store. I pushed my trick or treating limits by going until I was 13, then dressed up to take a friend’s little brother and steal his candy. I worked at a mall that offered indoor “safe” trick or treating and I dressed up to hand out candy there for two years. I collected canned goods for my service fraternity in full costume for four years in college. And I have relished every opportunity to go to a Halloween party every year since. And I’m good at costumes. Some may need to be explained, like the year I was a giant pink bath loofa, made with 25 yards of nylon netting with ballon bubbles. Or the time I was The Mutha-Effing Grill Ferrrrry, a tooth fairy complete with rhinestone and gold grill, and business cards that stated ‘Gold, Platinum, Rotten. Buy. Sell. Trade”. I’m not saying that every costume is a contest winner. I’m a ginger so of course I’ve been the obligatory Pippi Longstocking. I’ve also got a bee costume that my mother made for me when I was a freshman in college (yes, college) and I’ve been a killer bee, a queen bee, even a zom-bee.

I’m not a huge fan of couples costumes because I’m so proud of what I’ve been able to accomplish on my own. Batman and Catwoman, a salt and pepper shaker, the front and back of a donkey. Meh. But this year I broke down.

I present to you… Saul Bunyon and Babe, his Big Blue Lox.

He’s wearing a flannel yarmukle!

 

Leave a Reply

