Gifts for Those Who Squee

In case you didn’t know, Christmas is here again. Bah humbug. When did I stop being that kid who felt like Christmas could never get here fast enough to being a grownup who wishes we could do Christmas ever other year? Or once every four years, like the Olympics.

Christmas is inevitable and unavoidable, especially when you have a young child. He doesn’t know it yet, but my boy is getting presents this year with minimal parts to break, no collection of pieces to keep up with (like board games), no action figures or Hot Wheels that will, without a doubt, end up under sofa cushions and chewed up by my dogs. Instead, he’s getting a ramp for his skateboard. Seems like something difficult to break, but I’m sure he’ll find a way. Probably, he’ll end up breaking himself, an arm or a leg. At least it’s a toy that won’t get sucked up in my vacuum cleaner.

There will be other gifts, too. My boy is a son of a Squeer, which means my fangirl-dom has rubbed off on him. I believe he thinks Star Wars is a religion. He might be right. He has almost every light saber ever made (most of which are currently lost under a pile of leaves somewhere in the back yard) and he’s already maimed and beheaded most of the star wars action figures he got last year, so I went looking for something new for him this year and found these:

Available at Amazon for a very reasonable price (as of the posting of this blog, it’s going for $10.17) http://www.amazon.com/Star-Wars-Origami-Paper-folding-Projects/dp/0761169431/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354549573&sr=8-1&keywords=star+wars+oragami#_

My boy has read and LOVED all the books by Tom Angleberger: Strange Case of the Origami Yoda, Darth Paper Strikes Back, and The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee. So the ability to make his own origami star wars figures seems like a great idea. The origami book comes with the necessary folding papers, so there’s nothing extra to buy. Excellent! And if my son needs my help making these things, that would be quite alright, too.

The original Angleberger books make great gifts for the fanboys and girls in your life who are late elementary to middle school age. They come highly recommended by several sons of the Squee “staff”.

CD Squee is getting this book for her boy:

Available at Amazon for a very reasonable price of $13.59: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0545396344/?tag=googhydr-20&hvadid=15329176524&hvpos=1t1&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=428113601660414875&hvpone=13.59&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&ref=pd_sl_9oy3mhvjp8_b

The best part is we get to have fun making them and then, when they inexorably end up becoming crumpled balls of litter under the bed, I can throw them away with little regret.

For the Book Freaks in my life, I might do some shopping from Bas Bleu. If you don’t know about Bas Bleu, you should: http://www.basbleu.com/ They call themselves: “Champion of the Odd Little Book…And Wellspring of Inspired Gifts for Readers.”

From their Christmas gift suggestions, I’ve found the following, interesting items:

The Greatest First Lines of Literature Ever Mug: $12.95 They also have a “Banned Book Titles” mug.

Jane Eyre T-Shirt: $29.95 They have t-shirts with other classic book covers as well.

From the Library of…Stamp: $13.95

How about this from “Catalog Favorites”?

Book Sign for $24.95

Another great source for squee gifts is Computer Gear and More

How about this Star Wars Jedi cotton hooded bath robe?

I may have put a hint in someone’s ear for this steampunk jewelry set for me, also from Computer Gear and More.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 19:05:44

    Fun gift ideas! I think I’m going to grab the Star Wars origami for my nephew. And I need to poke around Bas Bleu…love the coffee mug. The steampunk jewelry is cool too – hope they make their way to you this year.

    Reply

  2. Redhead
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 03:39:39

    that Star Wars origami book looks awesome, as the does the Jedi robe!

    you’re getting your boy a skate ramp? he’s gonna be the coolest kid on the block with that set up in the back yard!

    my beef with Christmas is that it’s become all about conspicuous consumerism. We’re under so much pressure to spend, spend, spend, buy, buy, buy. it’s almost like whoever can spend the most money $$ wins. I know that retail businesses exist to make money, but some of their advertising this time of year makes me physically ill. 😦

    Reply

    • squee1313
      Dec 16, 2012 @ 22:01:27

      preach it! You took the words out of my mouth. I don’t mind buying stuff for the kids or for charity programs for those in need, but for everyone else, I say keep your money and I’ll keep mine. Just so long as we can still get together and pig out. Any excuse to eat is fine by me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

