Clues from Sookie’s New Cover

I admit I read the Sookie Stackhouse books, okay? Which probably makes me a total hypocrite for hatin’ on 50 Shades of Grey, but at least I can say when Charlaine Harris started the series, she’d never heard of Twilight. No one had for that matter.

For a while the Sookie books were a guilty pleasure and I enjoyed them. Lately the story line has been a big plug for the True Blood T.V. show and the last 2 or3 books generally sucked, but I think I keep reading the because I need closure. I can’t just quit until Sookie finds her one true love.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved Eric. I would have been satisfied with him being the One and Only if she had ended the series several books ago, but Harris has taken that possibility mostly away and has been pushing them apart for a while. I’m okay with a Sookie and Eric split under one condition: Harris needs to bring back the weretiger, Quinn. I actually liked him best of all Sookie’s suitors, and Sookie’s lame excuse for getting rid of him really pissed me off.

So, today I’m wandering around Amazon and I see the release date and cover for the next Sookie book is out. It’s probably been out for a while and I just haven’t paid attention, but here it is:

What’s the first thing that jumps out at me? A TIGER TAIL!!! Is that Quinn? I certainly hope so. The border collie is her long time, shape-shifter friend Sam, with whom Sookie has had a great friendship and a lot of trust and dependability. She’s entertained romantic thoughts about Sam before and they smooched once or twice, but I can only ever see him as just her friend. The wolf, I have to assume, is Alcide. He’s hot, but he’s wishy washy. He’d be great in bed, but I think Sookie would always wonder if he really had her back, and I mean as in defending and supporting her, not some alternative sexual position. Like I said, this ain’t 50 Shades of Grey.

But Quinn was all of those things, a friend, a lover, and a generally good human being. I think he got the shaft when she dumped him. Bring back Quinn!

Also, notice that this is the “Final Sookie Stackhouse Novel.” Woo hoo! No disrespect to Ms. Harris, but it’s about time.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 19:02:56

    I admit I’m very curious to see how this series turns out. I didn’t read the last book though so I need to read up on spoilers so I can jump into the finale 🙂 Interesting about the tiger tail on the cover, maybe you’re right about Quinn! I guess I’m more Team Eric- has that ship really sailed? There’s bats on the cover so I’m going to cling to hope.
    Agreed that it’s so about time to end this series…let’s hope Sookie goes out with a bang.

    Reply

    • squee1313
      Dec 10, 2012 @ 12:08:28

      I hate to be a spoiler, but yes it does seem that Sookie and Eric are falling apart. The ship hasn’t sailed, but I’d say the sails are raised and the mooring lines have been untied. They’re waiting for a good stiff breeze. Like I said, the rumors say they aren’t going to be together. But who knows. Maybe Harris is just trying to throw everyone off the trail.

      Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 20:36:04

    I stopped reading these a while ago (not sure what the last one I read was, though) because they just lost their luster after the first few. But I definitely think Quinn needs to come back and I’m curious to hear who she ends up with in the end. I don’t think I’ll read this as I know I missed a book or two or three, but I’m hoping to see it spoilered somewhere!

    Reply

    • squee1313
      Dec 10, 2012 @ 12:11:17

      They do sort of lose their luster, and there’s nothing I can say to encourage you to go back to them. Like I said, I think I just need closure and that’s why I keep reading them. Also and because I can generally read her books in one or two evenings, so no big time loss. I’m sure you can find out on the web rumor mills who Sookie ends up with.

      Reply

  3. rebecca2000
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 00:23:48

    Sookie needs to end up with Sam.

    Reply

    • squee1313
      Dec 10, 2012 @ 12:12:14

      He’s not my first choice, but I wouldn’t be sad if that happened. Sam doesn’t inspire great thoughts of passion and romance like Eric and Quinn, but he seems like the kind of guy that one can settle down with for a long and happy life.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

