The Dystopia Blues

I’m done with Dystopia…at least for a while

In the immortal words of Calhoun Tubbs, “I wrote a song about it. Like to hear it? Here it goes…”

Read Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell D’da da da dum (That’s that classic blues riff, in case you’re wondering).

Not too long ago, D’da da da dum

He was a master of dystopia, D’da da da dum

I give him “Best in Show” D’da da da dum

Read Little Brother, D’da da da dum

by Cory Doctorow, D’da da da dum

Teens watched by the government, D’da da da dum

This is not a new show, D’da da da dum

Read World War Z by Max Brooks, D’da da da dum

Got to page Two hundred and four, D’da da da dum

Zombies takin’ over the world, D’da da da dum

Now there’s going to be a world war D’da da da dum

Started The Twelve by Justin Cronin, D’da da da dum

Got to page twenty-four, D’da da da dum

Vampires takin’ over the world, D’da da da dum

Now there’s going to be a world war D’da da da dum

I got the Dystopia…ain’t nothing new in Dystopia Bluuuuuues.

Read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, D’da da da dum

Said I read this before, D’da da da dum

Stephen King called it The Running Man, D’da da da dum

Twenty-five years ago or more, D’da da da dum

Started The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda, D’da da da dum,

Said I think I read this before, D’da da da dum,

People forced to play a violent game, D’da da da dum,

Threw that book to the floor, D’da da da dum.

I got the Dystopia…ain’t nothing new in Dystopia Bluuuuuues.

Unholy creatures

Disease, famine and drought,

It’s the end of the world

We’ll all be put out

Mankind goes evil

Desperate to survive

It’s the end of the world

We’re all going to die

Oppressive government

Loss of Individuality

It’s the end of the world

And it’s live on T.V.

I got the Dystopia…ain’t nothing new in Dystopia Bluuuuuues.

Still haven’t gotten your fill of dystopia? Then may I recommend going back to some of the original masters:

Yevgeny Zamyatin’ s We, Ayn Rand’s Anthem, Ursula K. Le Guin’s The Dispossessed, Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World, and Kurt Vonnegut’s Player Piano, Phillip K Dicks, Do Aindroids Dream of Electric Sheep? I am Legend, by Richard Matheson, and Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cdsquee
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 16:11:06

    Excellent post. I’ve got those blues too still haven’t gotten the energy to read the night eternal in the del toro trilogy. Last book! Just finish it! But I don’t wanna! Really liked the first Cronin book too but all I can think is half of em are gonna die anyway!
    Maybe you need to go read a few books about a handsome man with wavy hair and green eyes falling in love with a clutzy girl who loves shoes. Soon you will be ready to read about plagues again.

    Reply

  2. squee1313
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 16:13:15

    I’m reading The Yellow Birds about soldiers in Iraq. Hmm that’s still kind of Dystopia, too, isn’t it?

    Reply

  3. Lucy
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 01:54:40

    Here here! I can so relate to dystopia burnout. I haven’t read all the classics of the genre yet, but have fatigue just from the current crop of dystopia. I recently picked up the audio of The Handmaid’s Tale- what do you think of that one? And how are you liking The Yellow Birds so far?

    Reply

    • squee1313
      Mar 12, 2013 @ 23:37:00

      I make exceptions to Dystopia burn out for Margaret Atwood. I LOVE Atwood. I read Handmade’s Tale from the library and then went out and bought it because it needed to be in my permanent library. So, how’s that for a recommendation? Yellow Birds is surprisingly poetic. In fact, its more poem than prose which makes it slow reading, yet also rewarding.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

