Three Squee Movies

One of my co-workers has chosen to forgo traditional television service providers in favor of Netflix and on-line streaming. I think she’s got the right idea, but there’s no way I’m convincing the boys in my household to give up ESPN, Cartoon Network, and the History Chanel. We have Netflix streaming, too, and that’s more for my benefit than anyone else because I love movies more than I like television.

The following three movies are ones I recently watched on Netflix that I might never have found if not for my co-worker and I highly recommend them:

NEVERWAS

From Amazon: A psychiatrist searches for insight into the life of his father, who was an acclaimed children’s author. But he is shocked when his journey leads him to believe that the fantasyland his father wrote about might actually exist.

Aaron Eckhart, Ian McKellen, William Hurt, Brittany Murphy, Nick Nolte, Jessical Lange, Bill Bellamy, Alan Cumming, Vera Farmiga, starring.

I don’t know how I never heard about this movie before, but it absolutely bowled me over. I love Ian McKellen anyway; he stars in some of my favorite Squee franchises like LOR and X-Men. In Neverwas, he stars as another sort of fantastical character named Gabriel who may or may not be the king of the magical world of Neverwas.

Arron Eckhart is the psychiatrist. Nick Nolte is his father, the mentally disturbed children’s author. He’s mostly only seen in flashbacks. Jessica Lange plays the kooky mom. Not really a stretch for either of them, but I love them both, anyway. Alan Cumming and Vera Farmiga are some colorful mental patients.

The best part of the movie was that, up until the last moment, I was never sure whether Neverwas was real or not. For most of the second half of the movie, I was afraid it was going to be like Inception, where the ending was left ambiguous. But, no, Neverwas has a definitive ending, and I absolutely loved it.

THE GIANT MECHANICAL MAN

This movie stars Jenna Fischer (The Office), Chris Messina (The Mindy Project), and Topher Grace (That 70s Show).

I’ve been noticing Chris Messina in a lot of things, lately. I love his character in The Mindy Project, and he was also in Ruby Sparks, and Argo. He’s a cutie and always seems to play a charming guy with issues. Makes me wonder what he’s like in real life.

In The Giant Mechanical Man, he’s a charming guy, Tim, who tries to make a living as a street performer who dresses up in a silver suit and make-up and poses as a robot. He appears on a local news show to discuss why he does what he does and explains that he feels it’s an expression of the way people go through their lives robotically without connection or any real reason. Jenna Fischer’s character, Janice, sees the news program and feels Tim has explained her condition. She’s recently lost her job and is floating listlessly without direction. She finds the mechanical man on the street one day and tells him that she understands what he’s saying and that she doesn’t have it “all figured out”, but it seems like everyone else does or pretends to.

Unbeknownst to her, Janice and Tim both get jobs working at the local zoo. Tim recognizes Janice, but she does not recognize him without the make-up. Romance blooms.

Topher Grace plays a self-improvement author who has a new book out about the art of communication. Communication is a major theme in the movie. Ironically, Topher’s character is a terrible communicator who mainly talks about himself. Janice’s sister and brother-in-law insist on setting Janice up with Topher, because they believe he’ll motive Janice to get her life in order. Topher’s character is great comedic relief in mostly a gloomy story. The gloom has a purpose though, it sets the mood for Tim and Janice’s lackadaisical feelings about their lives until their connection with each other begins to give them a sense of belonging and purpose.

Sweet, charming, and Romantic.

CHARLIE BARTLETT

A rich kid becomes the self-appointed psychiatrist to the student body of his new high school.

This movie stars Anton Yelchin as Charlie Bartlett. Anton Yelchin is an amazingly talented guy. I first noticed him in the Star Trek prequel that came out a few years ago. He played the young engineer, Checkov. Charlie Bartlett came out before Star Trek, though, but I didn’t see it until a few weeks ago. The amazing list of talent’s he’s required to pull off in this role are enough reason to see it alone, but the movie also stars Robert Downey Junior as the Principal of the high school Charlie attends. I love Robert Downey.

Charlie is a problem child, but not in the traditional sense. His trouble stems more from his intelligence and creativity, especially in coming up with get-rich-quick schemes. He has a big heart and really does care about helping people. He’s charming, eclectic, and sincere, and so is the movie.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MistressCinder
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 21:39:59

    I really like Charlie Bartlett & Neverwas. The Giant Mechanical is currently in my que of movies to watch. This might bump it up a few spots. : ) I am an Amazon Prime member so I can watch it for free.

    Reply

    • squee1313
      Apr 02, 2013 @ 22:02:52

      It came with strong recommendations from someone whose opinions on movies I trust. I probably wouldn’t have sought it on my own, but I liked it so much. For an “indie” movie i’ts very romantic and not pretentious. It’s funnier than I thought it would be. I hope you like it.

      Reply

  2. Lucy
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 02:06:49

    The Giant Mechanical Man looks so cute. And I love Chris Messina and The Mindy Project! Adding it to the netflix queue. Thanks for the recs 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

