My Book Stack Gives me a Panick Attack

Here’s when you know you have a book addiction problem: you look at your Kindle, your nightstand table, your floor, your bookshelf, on top of the chest in your living room, in your massively big purse/book bag thing on your shoulder, the backseat of the car, and all the other places where books you’ve actually purchased are laying around, and then you look at the list of books you’ve reserved at the library that are waiting to come to you, the list of ones that you’ve put off until you’ve caught up with the reserved list, your “To Be Read” list on Good Reads, and your “Wish List” on Amazon, and you…

FREAK THE F*CK OUT!!!!!

I’ve done the math, folks. I’m going to have to live to be 120 to get all these books read. I’m going to have to stop sleeping. I’m going to have to become agoraphobic (except for going to the library). I may have to get a divorce and become an absentee parent, especially when I consider that there are all these writers out there, writing more books all the time.

STOP WRITING! Give a girl a chance to get caught up for God’s sake.

More than anything, though, I really want to get to the books that I’ve paid good hard money for but which have been lying around for an insanely long time.

Here’s my list. What should I tackle first?

Game of Thrones: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book One by George R. R. Martin

Stone of Tears book 2 in the Sword of Truth Series by Terry Goodkind. I loooved the first book. I know I’ll love the second one, when I can find some time…

The Great Book of Amber: The Complete Book of Amber Chronicles 1 – 10 by Roger Zelazny. OMG this thing is huge. It’s lying by my bed, looking at me with a sort of disappointed grimace. “Why’d you buy me?” it asks. “Was it just for my good looks? Who knew you were such a superficial woman?”

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke. I started this one, got about half way, and was really digging it. Then I left it in West Virginia when I went with my husband to visit family. It’s probably been turned into firewood kindling by now. Or eaten. Or wadded up into spit balls. Or acting as a coaster for someone’s bong so it doesn’t leave rings on the pressboard nightstand. Or it was just thrown in the trash. Either way, I ain’t gettin it back.

Then one of my darling friends read it and thought I would enjoy it, so she passed her copy to me to keep. I haven’t cracked it once, but I have really good intentions of finishing it. Someday.

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls: Essays, Etc. by David Sedaris. I will read this one first, I believe, because it’s essays and I love essays and short stories for when I’m sitting in waiting rooms or for whenever I need to kill a few minutes in my day.

Besides the fact that I think he’s a comedic genius with impeccable timing, and besides the fact that I’ve been a LONG time fan of David and his sister Amy, I have to love them both for the simple fact that they grew up in my lovely city. I’m so proud.

We by Yevgeny Zamyatin. I’m almost done with this book. I’ve been working on it for a while. I do like it, a whole whole lot, but its not an easy read. First of all, its translated from Russian. It’s 80 years old, and it’s almost all written in verse. It’s striking and vivid and horrifying and wonderful. I’m going to finish it. I really am.

Anthem by Ayn Rand. Maybe I only keep this one because I think it makes me look smart. Again, I have the greatest of intentions.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. You can see that I got into a apocalyptic/Big Brother-esque mood there for a while.

The Banishment by M.C. Beaton. I’m not sure why this one appealed to me. I guess because I like Bronte and Austin sometimes and this seemed like one of those kind of books. I’m a little over half way through. I’ll finish it. Someday.

The Woodcutter by Kate Danley. I have NO idea why I picked this one up. Maybe another blog recommended it and it was on sale on Amazon? This one is waaaaay down low on my priority list unless someone can advise me as to why I should move it up.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. I’ve read a few of Bray’s books and loved them. This one is part of a series. I’m totally daunted by the idea of starting another series. I think that’s why I keep putting it off.

The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking: Book One by Patrick Ness. I’ve heard so many many great things about this series. I started this one too. It’s also not an easy read, though I see it has very great potential. I’m not giving up on it. No way. I am going to read this book. Eventually.

A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs. According to my Kindle, I’m 89% through with this book. So, why can’t I just finish it already? I do like it. A Lot. A lot better than the movie, sadly. Sadly because Taylor Kitsch is hot and I’m sad anytime a hot dude wastes himself in a sucky movie. Look at that fantastic-cheesetastic cover too. I love old pulp science fiction covers, even if the women are ridiculously proportioned and mostly naked.

And, finally, Clementine by Cherie Priest. This is set in her Clockwork Century, steampunk world. I loved, loved, loved her Boneshaker book, so I was really eager to read another set in the same universe, but then real life keeps coming along and expecting me to go to work and check my kid’s homework and do laundry and cook dinner and walk the dog and…Real life sucks.

Like I said, I do recommend this one and I actually did finish it.

This is my Bought But Haven’t Read stack and it’s not complete. I’m not mentioning the ones that have been given to me but I’ll likely end up putting in a Goodwill pile at some point, because otherwise I’ll just become overwhelmed and curl up in a little ball and have nightmares about books attacking me with BIG POINTY TEETH!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jean
    May 02, 2013 @ 22:52:18

    Game of thrones and then lend it to me. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Redhead
    May 04, 2013 @ 13:40:37

    oh honey, have you got a lot of beauties there!

    I’ve had We by Yevgeny Zamyatin sitting on my coffee table staring at me for like 2 years. I keep meaning to pick it up. I”ve even opened it a few times. but it seems like a book that can only be read in morning light . . maybe if I could find a new printing in Large Print it wouldn’t be so scary.

    You can’t go wrong with Martin’s Game of Thrones, it’s a very quick fun read. yes, it’s super fat, but it’s all action and dialog. fast read. Rand’s Anthem isn’t her best work, but it’s satisfying,I highly suggest “We the Living” after that.

    and about freaking the hell out when your reading pile is out of control? Happens to me every 6 months or so. stuff from the library, new stuff i bought, a couple of ARCs I was lucky enough to snag, handful of titles people have lent me. . . . . when the stack topples over, it’s too high. I usually end up prioritizing one or two books out of that stack, hiding the rest of it, and rereading a comfort read, something classic that I know I’m going to like, just in case the couple of things that are a “priority” don’t work out.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: MONSTRUMOLOGIST by Rick Yancey: Kindle Daily Deal today only $1.99 | Songs in Squee Minor
  4. http://overhaulinforums.com/
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 14:30:56

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

