New Book Series Suck

New Book Series Suck

I should qualify my previous statement and say that starting a new book series sucks. I should, from now on, only read from book series that are finished or pretty dang near finished.

I actually quite like the fact that once I invest my time in getting to know a character and their world, I don’t have to discard them and move on at the end of one book. In a book series, I get to hang out with them again and again. When you’re a huge book nerd, that’s a big deal.

But starting new book series seriously sucks. Why? Because at the moment all of my favorite series are months or over a year away from releasing new books and I’m going stir crazy.

Top 5 Reasons Why Starting a New Book Series Sucks

  1. Another set of characters to remember (and forget).
  2. Another plot line to remember (and forget).
  3. Long waits between book releases.
  4. Loving the first book, waiting forever for the second book, and finding out it’s a huge disappointment.
  5. Reading the whole long-ass series only to find that:
    • The author should have ended the series several books ago (I’m talking to you Charlaine Harris and Diana Gabaldon)
    • When the author finally does end the series, it doesn’t end the way you wish it would have (see Sookie Stackhouse and Georgia Kinkaid series)

 

Current Book Series on which I am Impatiently Waiting New Releases

Fifth Grave Past the Light: Book 5, Charlie Davidson series by Darynda Jones

Releases July 9, 2013

Image

Magic Rises: Book 6, Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

Releases July 30, 2013

Image

The Bitter Kingdom: Book 3, Girl of Fire and Thorns series by Rae Carson

Releases August 27, 2013

Image

Burned: Book 2, Dani O’ Malley series by Karen Marie Moning (a spin off from the really great Fever series)

Releases January 14, 2014

Image

Shadowscale: Book 2, Seraphina series by Rachel Hartman

Releases February 25, 2014

No image available yet, so I’ll post the cover from the first book.Image

Dreams of Gods and Monsters: Book 3, Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor

Releases April 2014

Image

Mortal Heart: Book 3, His Fair Assassins series by Robin LaFevers

Releases 2014

No image available yet, so here are the covers from the first two books

Image

Skin Game: Book 15, Harry Dresden series by Jim Butcher

Releases 2014

No image available yet so I’m putting in a general image of Harry Dresden because I love him so.

Image

I’ve noticed the books in this list all share the commonality of having strong feminine protagonists who like to kick butt, well, except for Harry Dresden. Harry is all man, but he totally respects women’s ability to kick butt, which is one of the many reasons I love him. Plus he has a wicked grood sense of humor<

Leave a Reply

