Loosing my “Con” Virginity at Illogicon

Although I profess to be a geek, there’s one major geek bucket list item I’ve, until this past weekend, never struck from my list, and that was to attend one of those geekfests known as a Sci-Fi and Fantasy Convention. In this case, I attended a small local convention known as “Illogicon“.

Illogicon mascot, "Shrodie"

Illogicon mascot, “Shrodie”

I had heard about Illogicon in the past, probably from Bull Spec, but I had never thought about actually going until this year. A few months ago I joined a national  writer’s forum and started making some cyber writer friends and Illogicon seemed like the perfect place to finally meet a few of these writers face to face. In fact, some of my fellow forum writers were Guests of Honor: Gray Rinehart and Lawrence M. Schoen. Super plus is that Gray is a local writer, right here in the Tar Heel State.

Saturday night a group from the forum got together for dinner. I’m going to admit, with shame, that I chickened out.  I used to not be afraid of meeting new people in group settings, but maybe marriage and motherhood has begun to change that about me.  Instead, I quietly snuck into several events on Sunday. Next year, I promise to do better!

But, only going on Sunday turned out to be alright because I got to sit in on a few very awesome panels and tour some great vendors such as Steampunk Cellears who sold awesome steampunk creations like the ones below:

seahorse steam elephant

There was also a display table and several panels hosted by War Bunny, from whom I learned the best type of hatchet one should have when facing the Zombie Apocalypse. Some people might not value this information, but I think it’s always good to be prepared.

When I first arrived, I saw a few costumed attendees, and such was to be expected.  Otherwise, a large majority of the participants were rather stereotypically geek. I saw one girl who wore a dress designed to look like Boba Fett’s mask. That was cool. I also saw a lot of slightly overweight, balding men with pony tails and Dr. Who T-shirts. Not so mainstream cool, but geek chic in their own right.  As I waited to go into one of the panels, I was starting to doubt my own geekery.  Maybe I’m just not enough of a geek to be in this place.

But I proved myself wrong when I went into the steampunk panel which featured Natania Barron of Geek Mom fame.

GeekMomBookCover

Natania was on the steampunk panel, not for her Geek Mom stuff, but for her new steampunk/western/gothic/alternate history novel: Pilgrim of the Sky.

pilgrim-cover

Also on the panel were Vampire Empire authors, Clay and Sue Griffith.

The%20Greyfriar

They talked for a while about what does and doesn’t constitute Steampunk and I tried my best to be a good listener and not interrupt, even though I felt like I had an appropriate comment about everything they discussed. Thankfully, they had time at the end to let me verbally vomit about steampunk a bit. I may have embarrassed myself. I may have out geeked the girl wearing the spandex Star Trek mini dress with quibble fur wrap.

Maybe when I go back next year, they won’t think of me as “That Girl who was Waaay Too Much into Steampunk.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. widdershins
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 03:40:05

    Congratulations on your … erm … deflowering! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

